World’s most innovative thinkers coming to Australia


Retail, the media, airlines, telecommunications, even governments globally are all in the throes of fundamental change in response to disruption. Is it a threat to your industry or profession, a problem to be managed – or an opportunity to be seized?

Australia’s business sector has a chance to understand disruption, to innovate in response, or take the initiative and be a disruptor. Learn from the who’s who of global thinkers and innovators at the 6th Creative Innovation 2016 Asia Pacific Global event – Ci2016, 7-9 November 2016 at Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.

Creative Innovation 2016 Asia Pacific: The Exponential Shift: Making Transformation Happen shares bold ideas, strategies and sustainable growth solutions across all sectors, sparking revolution for leadership, innovation and change, and creating real business opportunities.

Ci2016 is about not only managing the dramatic changes being wrought by new business models associated with the internet, technology and globalisation, but learning from these changes and seeing opportunities.

Disruption and the rise of exponential technologies is undoubtedly the greatest commercial and cultural threat all organisations will face over the next five years. With an estimated 47% of jobs to be lost due to new technologies this event will address key issues, challenges and opportunities around the future of work and new industries.

The changes driven by digital technology don’t discriminate. Virtually every business and institution faces competitive threats from new, nimble competitors not hampered by past practice or thinking. Yet, once understood, the threat of disruptive change from outside can be turned to a huge competitive advantage with the opportunities that flow from that understanding.

The line-up of speakers is:

  • Professor Hiroshi Ishiguro–Japan: Director Intelligent Robotics Laboratory, Department of Systems Innovation in the Graduate School of Engineering Science at Osaka University
  • Scott Anthony–Singapore: Strategy and Disruptive innovation expert; Managing Partner Innosight; Harvard Business Review Author
  • Ramez Naam–USA: Expert on innovation, energy, environmental challenges and neuroscience; CEO Apex Nanotechnologies; futurist and award-winning author of four books
  • Martin Ford–USA: Silicon Valley Entrepreneur, Futurist and Speaker; expert on the robot revolution, AI, job automation and the impact of accelerating technology on the economy and society
  • Dr Daniel Kraft–US: Physician-scientist, inventor and innovator; Faculty Chair for the Medicine and Exponential Medicine program at Singularity University, exploring the impact and potential of rapidly developing technologies as applied to health and medicine
  • Dr Abigail Allwood–US: Astrobiologist, Jet Propulsion Lab, NASA; first female principal investigator on a Mars mission
  • Professor Stephen Heppell–UK: Chair Learning Innovation Universidad Camilo José Cela Madrid; Chair in New Media Environments Bournemouth University; one of the most influential academics in the field of technology and education globally
  • David Gonski AC: Chairman ANZ and Coca-Cola Amatil
  • Dr Alan Finkel AO: Australia’s Chief Scientist
  • Hugh Morgan AC: Principal, First Charnock; Lafarge International Advisory Board; Chairman Emeritus Asia Society AustralAsia Centre; Former CEO Western Mining Corporation; Former Chair Business Council of Australia
  • Bill Ferris AC: Chair Innovation Australia; Founder & Co-Chairman CHAMP Equity
  • Professor Michelle Simmons: Scientia Professor of Physics, University of New South Wales; Australian Research Council Laureate Fellow
  • Martin Bean CBE: Vice Chancellor and President RMIT University
  • Renee Leon PSM: Secretary of the Department of Employment
  • Carolyn Hewson AO: Director of BHP Billiton and Stockland Group; Trustee Westpac Foundation; Member of Federal Government Growth Centres Advisory Committee
  • Dr Alex Zelinsky: Australia’s Chief Defence Scientist – DSTO – computer scientist, systems engineer and roboticist
  • Jane King: Deputy Commissioner, Design and Change Management Australian Taxation Office
  • John Stanhope: Chairman Australia Post & AGL; Chancellor of Deakin University
  • Steve Vamos: Non-Executive Director Telstra and Fletcher Building, venture investor, business advisor, speaker
  • Associate Professor Rufus Black: Master Ormond College; Principal Fellow in the Department of Philosophy at the University of Melbourne
  • Professor Tanya Monro: Deputy Vice Chancellor Research & Innovation and an ARC Georgina Sweet Laureate Fellow University of South Australia.